The Ahlul Bayt (a.s)

Before he passed away from this life, Prophet Mohammad (s.a.w) warned his followers to hold on to two things after his death so that they may never lose the straight path to Allah (s.w.t). One of those things was the Quran, and the other was his Ahlul Bayt (a.s). But who are the Ahul Bayt?


In Arabic, the word 'Ahlul Bay' means the close members of a household .In Islam there are fourteen included in the Ahlul Bayt and they include the following: Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w), his daughter Fatima (a.s) and the 12 Imams.​​​


The Prophet (s.a.w) told the Muslims to follow in the footsteps of his Ahlul Bayt (a.s) because they are infallible. Being 'infallible' means that they do not commit any sin or make any mistakes in worshipping Allah (s.w.t) or teaching Islam. The Ahlul Bayt (a.s) are infallible because of their closeness to Allah (s.w.t) and because they have the ability to see the true ugliness of sins and the true beauty of submitting to him.


Because they walked away from all sin after seeing the true glory and beauty of their Lord, Allah (s.w.t) provided them with an extra layer of protection. The infallibility of the Ahul Bayt (a.s) is an important sign of Allah's (s.w) love for us as he does not want us to be confused regarding how to reach him or how to live a good Islamic life. 


The Ahlul Bayt (a.s) are the perfect walking examples of the Quran. 

Allah (s.w.t) gave us the Ahlul Bayt (a.s) because the Quran is not always easy for average people to understand and sometimes there are issues which people need more information about. Altogether there are 12 Imams and they are all descendants of Prophet Mohammad (s.a.w).

Examples of other infallible people include the Prophets and the 12 Imams.

Ahlul Bayt in the Quran 


Learn About the Ahlul Bayt

1. Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.w)

2. Fatima Zahra (a.s)

(Prophet Mohammad's daughter)

3. Imam Ali (a.s)

The husband of Fatima al-Zahra (a.s) and the cousin of the Prophet (s.a.w.w) 

4. Imam Hassan (a.s)

The oldest son of Imam Ali and Fatima al-Zahra(a.s)

5. Imam Hussain (a.s)

The second son of Imam Ali and Fatima al-Zahra (a.s)

6. The Nine Infallible Descendents (a.s)